Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: what kind of boat is this

what kind of boat is this 11 years 11 months ago #61229

Hey all, im new to boating and , my fathers neighbor has a boat for sale and its a steal. he has no paperwork on it and is unsure what kind of boat it is. Ide like to get it for a project ( im an upholsterer for a living). he says it floats, doesnt take on water, just need an interior, paint and a motor. But i just want to make sure i can get certain parts for it still, so i need help identifying it here is a link to the pics.

imageshack.us/g/641/boat4s.jpg/
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:what kind of boat is this 11 years 11 months ago #61267

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167
If it's free get it. Check the transom and floor for soft spots, rotting wood etc. For a no motor bad interior hull I wouldn't go more than $50.

Re:what kind of boat is this 11 years 11 months ago #61286

• capy235
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 0
No paperwork means no title. Could be a big problem depending on the state you live in. Sometimes possible to claim homemade status from parts but investigate first.

Re:what kind of boat is this 11 years 11 months ago #61290

• jim bart
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 0
You're an upholseter? Stick around, if you are looking for work. This site is loaded with folks restoring classic boats--many of which need interior work.
AS for the boat, I'm no expert, so I have no idea of the make or the value, but keep in mind that cheap project boats are plentiful, and you are certain to find that the time and money spent is not easily recouped. So, make sure its something that you really want, or keep searching for other candidates. [...just my $0.02]

Re:what kind of boat is this 11 years 11 months ago #61297