Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Original 1950's Fiberglass Boat Questions

Original 1950's Fiberglass Boat Questions 14 years 1 month ago #5019

I'm new to the vintage fiberglass boat scene and am currently looking for a nice original 1950's fiberglass boat. I've found a couple I'm going to look at here in the next couple of weeks.

I see lots and lots of restorations here from boats in pretty bad shape.

Here's my question.
Have any of you found a well-kept (garaged) 1950's original fiberglass boat that hasn't been restored that doesn't have some fashion of structural rot needing to be pulled apart?

In other words, is is possible to find a nice original fiberglass boat from the 1950's that doesn't have some sort of structural issue? I'm not talking restored, but rather a true time-capsule boat that needs general maintenance to get back on the water?

Inquiring minds want to know.

Thanks for your time.

Dan

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Original 1950's Fiberglass Boat Questions 14 years 1 month ago #5020

They're out there...but expect to pay a premium for them. Most people who own clean, original Glassics hang on to them but there are exceptions.

Craigslist, Ebay and this forum are probably your best resources for finding an original creampuff. Be selective and dont necessarily buy the first one you look at...there is ALOT of junk out there. If possible, take someone well versed in classic boats along with you and can show you what to look for.

Re:Original 1950's Fiberglass Boat Questions 14 years 1 month ago #5026

bob beers found this 59?flying fish in fantastic original condition,it even came with matching plaid water skis,i saw it in peron,it was really great,but it wasnt cheap.john.ps its the black and red boat,its a herters.
Attachments:

\"too soon old,too late smart\" my pap