Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: what motor do i need?

what motor do i need? 13 years 8 months ago #14018

im new to boats and have no idea what to look for when it comes to motors.

its for a 10ft gw invader, has separate gear and throttle controls,

what should i look for? anyone got one they wanna get rid of?

thanks alot
cody

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:what motor do i need? 13 years 8 months ago #14024

Hi Cody,
There are actually several ways to answer your question, but it partly depends on what you expect in performance, and the ease (or lack of) to find a suitable outboard to accomplish this performance level. You could use a fairly small sized outboard, but I think most would prefer to connect the steering and remote controls (these are going to vary with what brand and sometimes the year model). Very small and smaller horsepower outboards require optional kits to allow steering and shift/throttle operation most of the time, and electric start is preferred by many. These kits can be hard to find. You also need to be considering a "short shaft" outboard. It is pretty easy to find a 30 to 40 horsepower electric start with steering and control set-up, but short shaft length is often a littler harder. With 20 to 25 horsepower motors, the short shafts tend to not have steering and control set-up, and again the long shaft versions do. I may be making this sound very difficult, but I do not see a lot of sound condition short shaft, electric starting, steering and controls equipped outboards, others may disagree. For what it may be worth, our business does have an excellent mechanical condition (the appearance is pretty good also) 1975 Mercury Merc 200 E (20 horsepower, electric start) outboard which was removed from a boat with steering wheel mechanical steering, and remote controls. They are out there. Tells us the performance level you hope for, and we may be able to add more.

Regards,
Joe