• Page:

TOPIC: 1st blocking completed on the Fabuglas Commodore

1st blocking completed on the Fabuglas Commodore 13 years 8 months ago #13704

• 69Fabuglas
  • 69Fabuglas's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I finished the first blocking of the deck this morning/afternoon. My Cruiser is a 19'er and it took me a solid 4-hours of block sanding. There's not much to show.. so theres only a couple pictures to add to the webpages.
I just wanted to show you all the process I've been using for many years on Cars and boats. Yes, I have done many fiberglass cars too. The Studebaker Avanti- is a fiberglass bodied car (made by MFG)... and I've done several.

The photo below is an area on the side of the cabin that was heavily "crazed". I purposely overblocked the area where the crazing is... so it would show up better in the photo. That entire panel was crazed like that- not just that small area. The epoxy and High-builds have done their job.

1) The deck was aggressively sanded with 80G sandpaper with my Dual-Action air-sander to remove all the old oxidation, and to give the primers a good "bite". All edges and corners were hand-sanded.
2) The initial primer I chose is BASF Diamont EP589. It is a newer offering in their line. It's a combination epoxy, high-build, and sealer. This is laid on pretty heavy, and will fill light crazing fairly easily. Heavily crazed areas are brushed in a circular motion, to fill in the scratches.
3) Next, I like to use (3) wet coats of Diamont's DP-20 Urethane High-build epoxy primer, as my primer/surfacer. This may seem like alot, but you end up blocking 75% of it off. I love it's build characteristics and filling ability. It dries very quickly, and blocks easily- without filling your sandpaper too fast. It can be wet-sanded to a very slick surface. I have found that it does not shrink nearly as much later on (3-5 years)