Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1964 johnson 90 meteor ?'s

1964 johnson 90 meteor ?'s 13 years 8 months ago #13279

well Im new to boats and decided i wanted a vintage boat. found a
1965 Glastron sportsman with a 1964 90hp johnson meteor outboard.

i tried starting it but it made this lound grinding noise and would barley turn over. so i got it apart and it looks like i need to find a new gear for the starter and the manual says to replace as a set with the drive gear as well.

I cant find this, seems all parts suppliers i find do not go back to 1965. so this would be my first question, is there a good parts source for these??

also i was wondering if this is even a good motor to have? should i waste my time? I pulled the carbs and the inside looks very clean. and the boat was on the water 5-8 years ago.

Ive read some people opted to get rid of the motor because of the electric shift. is this a huge problem?

Thanks for the help/advice

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1964 johnson 90 meteor ?'s 13 years 8 months ago #13284

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5
If the ring gear on the flywheel isn't damaged, you shouldn't have to replace it. (I'm not an expert on the meteor, just speaking generally.) I would find a local shop who rebuilds starters, generators and alternators, they can probably source the starter drive (gear) for you. There are quite a few OMC guys on here too, somebody may come up with something later, don't give up on her yet.

Got any pics you can post, we'd also love to see your Glastron!

Mark

Re:1964 johnson 90 meteor ?'s 13 years 8 months ago #13303

• Rod-B
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Sea Way Marine in Seattle, WA.

www.sea-way.com/index.htm