• Page:

TOPIC: 1960 Wagemaker transom help.

1960 Wagemaker transom help. 13 years 9 months ago #11005

• Waterwings
  • Waterwings's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 100
Thanks to those of you who have helped me in the past and those of you following my restoration job.

As youknow I'm new to boat restoration and have run into a snag and I need some advice.

Here's the problem:
I've managed to strip off 99% of the old lead based paint and ran into the below problem where the transom support was.

The transom was fiberglassed in on the ends and just a layer of resin was spread over the rest of the wood. The factory then painted over the resin. Question is, how do I take care of the wood that came out? It's not soft or rotted. I think my dad may have taken the support of and applied resin to some of it.

Can I just fill the voids with resin and sand flat to the rest of the transom, prime and paint it with the rest of the interior once it's sanded and ready?

Somone had suggested routing it out the length pf the bad spots then glue in a thin layer of wood. Then resin, prime and paint. Seems like a lot of work for something that's going to be covered up by the transom support anyway.

Oh the transom support is a 2"x4" varnish solid piece of Mahogany that matches the topside of the boat. It mounts with three brass 2 1/2" wood screws into the transom.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1960 Wagemaker transom help. 13 years 9 months ago #11068

Could we get a pic of the whole boat, and what size engine will it wear?

Re:1960 Wagemaker transom help. 13 years 9 months ago #11069

• Waterwings
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
jim18611865

Here is the link to all the pics of my project (along with some from Nessman's rework of his Wagemaker Clipper).