Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1956 Johnson model FD-10S

1956 Johnson model FD-10S 12 years 2 months ago #57005

I have a 1956 15 HP Johnson model FD-10S that has been in the family for years. It has a blown piston that I would like to try to replace. According to one chart I looked at the part number for the piston is 277402 and the rings are part number 301787. I have heard that there are new part numbers; the pistons new number is 277413 and the rings for this piston are part number 378416. I have never done this before and do not want to start off getting the wrong parts can anyone help. Also the old piston left a mark of aluminum on the cylinder. I was told I could take muriatic acid on a cloth and wipe that off does that sound right?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1956 Johnson model FD-10S 12 years 2 months ago #57026

Marine Engines com has the part #s listed )page 14 & 15)

www.marineengine.com/parts/vintage-evinrude-johnson/376748/catalog.html?http://www.marineengine.com/parts/vintage-evinrude-johnson/376748/37674800001.htm

Put the part # in the "part # search" hit go and the system will give you the new part # (if there is one)

Many of the mew part #s are the old part # with a 0 added to the front

After you find the part # save yourself some money and do a google search by typing OMC part # (the part #)

CAVU

Re:1956 Johnson model FD-10S 12 years 2 months ago #57027

I have a Gale 15hp, c. early 1960s, that is very similar. It is stuck - might be able to sneak a piston out of it though... I'd let it go for cost of shipping if interested - if I can find it.

Re:1956 Johnson model FD-10S 12 years 2 months ago #57119