Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: about to give up... problem 653 with video

about to give up... problem 653 with video 12 years 8 months ago #42507

Fuel pump swapped for one I had
Carbs cleaned and rebuilt
fuel lines replaced
fuel tank issues fixed

runs perfect on the hose... put it in the water and put her in gear... shuts it right down. We verified that fuel is getting to the pump, verified that it is getting past the pump. Obviously has spark. I checked the sync and linkage adjustment as best I could (I'm no expert for certain). I'm getting to the point that I'm going to swap out the motor for my 85hp but the wife is really objecting.

thanks to space.ace for the videography

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Need help with 70HP Evinrude! 12 years 8 months ago #42509

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5
I'm not really familiar with the 70HP, but it sounds like it's not getting enough fuel. I notice no smoke whatsoever, so this would confirm that diagnosis? Have you tried opening the idle mixture screws 1/4 turn each? Don't give up, we'll figure it out. Professor, Scott, Jim, anybody??? Maybe one of the Team OMC guys from the G3 forum?

Mark

Re:about to give up... problem 653 with video 12 years 8 months ago #42511

we had the same diagnosis... just cant figure out why. I even held the fuel tank up higher than the motor so the pump wouldn't have to pull the fuel. Maybe there is something I missed in the rebuild?

Re:about to give up... problem 653 with video 12 years 8 months ago #42517

Feel the sparkplugs after it has run for about 1-1/2 minutes. All should be hot. My guess is that your "magic box" cdi box is shot. It doesn't sound like it is hitting on all 3 cylinders to me. It takes a trained ear to hear it. I could be wrong but that's my best guess. With no load, the engine will rev up, even though it's not firing on all jugs.

Re:about to give up... problem 653 with video 12 years 8 months ago #42519

• g3jim