• Page:

TOPIC: rejeting the carbs

rejeting the carbs 6 years 1 month ago #135657

• madbohunk
  • madbohunk's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 1
I have a 1979 Johnson V4 115TL79R . Is it as easy as rejecting my carbs with jet off a V4 140TL79R to get more hp out of the motor ? As I look through the parts book both motors take it seams like the same parts. carb kit ,pistons ,rods crank ,etc. the only difference I've found is different part #s for the heads. just doesn't seam that easy . thanks in advance ..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

rejeting the carbs 6 years 1 month ago #135660

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167
I'm no expert by far but I don't think rejetting will increase horsepower. If you put in a larger main I think you would just increase fuel consumption and runability issues. Could be wrong. One thing I did find out almost 26 years ago was that if you shave the heads you get better spunk. Did that out of necessity. Had an older 80's Johnson that overheated and warped the heads, I put emery cloth on a flat board and proceeded to cut down the warp until it was flush again. There was a noticeable improvement in performance. Not recommending this though.
There are experts here that could be more informative.

rejeting the carbs 6 years 1 month ago #135663