Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
A forum for owners and fans of Chrysler and Force engines.
  • Page:

TOPIC: 60 hp Chrysler Help

60 hp Chrysler Help 8 years 11 months ago #108606

Hello All!

I picked up a great fiberglassic lately. What I believe to be a 1959 Cutter Como or Skier. Pic are posted in the main forum.

To my disbelief, the engine, which I have determined is a Chrysler 60 hp from 1974 or 75 runs beautifully. I put it on the water for grins a few days ago and the boat is tight and no water comes in anywhere. The folks I bought it from knew nothing about the boat so I'm on my own to figure it out. I'm new to the outboard boating game but have a reasonable amount of mechanical knowledge from other motion related endeavors.

I have 2 questions to get me going. Since the motor runs great and the boat floats, I think we are gonna make the restoration a winter project. The only problem I ran into is that at idle or very slow speeds, the temperature came up very quickly, but went down very quickly when I came up to about 1800 or greater RPM. Is this normal, or do I need a fresh impeller/water pump for cooling?

Second, are the 60 hp (mine is a 608HA) and the 55 hp motors basically the same thing? The service manual I have lists the bore and stroke as identical, but the 60 hp is rated to a higher RPM to develop the additional 5 hp. This will help in finding parts for the thing, as is seems that no place lists parts specifically for the 60 hp.

Thanks in advance to all you knowledgeable folks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:60 hp Chrysler Help 8 years 11 months ago #108609

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5
It's great that you've established that it's a runner JD, a couple things I always do before putting one in service;