Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New MFG Niagra, new to this website

New MFG Niagra, new to this website 3 years 3 months ago #143881

• at
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I recently bought a 1966 MFG Niagra and found this website. It was sitting for 13 years outside so its nasty but it seems like its sound enough to be restored. Got it for $400 with a trailer and 25 hp Johnson. I'd like to know what anyone thinks about the price, I thought it was decent for my area especially considering how old it is but I have never bought this type of boat before. I have never worked on a fiberglass boat before so I have a few questions for anyone willing to answer.

There seems to be a fiberglass floor that is above the hull of the boat. There are screw holes in it from who knows what, and it was outside for years so I'm sure water got in there. How much of a problem is this and what might I need to do?

The seats appear to be original, there is a bench in the front and two swiveling chairs in the back. Obviously the wood isn't looking factory but I'm afraid to rebuild them if having original components is something very valuable when selling.

The motor looks okay, but I haven't had luck starting it. I know carb, spark plugs, and cleaning things up is a good start. Where I get lost is in the wiring, there are hookups for 2 separate batteries. I attached both and turned the key, but nothing happened to the electric starter. The wiring inside the motor is a mess. Any way to test only the starter or maybe just try to start the engine by hand without it?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New MFG Niagra, new to this website 3 years 2 months ago #143882

Welcome !
You found the right place. Lots of knowledge here.
The MFG expert is DAVNAU6345. He will chime in at some point.
I'm not sure if there is flotation foam under the floor. If not the water should drain out the drain hole.