TOPIC: 1959 Dorsett Catalina - Oregon

1959 Dorsett Catalina - Oregon 10 years 8 months ago #80071

• Modeler
  • Modeler's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all,

New member here, a bit about myself: I live in Oregon and work as a Paramedic, grew up working on charter boats on the Oregon coast and I hold a 50 Ton Master's License (Commercial Captain's license). I've been "playing" with boats since I was a teenager and have completed three restorations so far (21' Venture sailboat, 26' Bayliner Buccaneer sailboat and a 14' wooden skiff) and 3 years ago I built a 16' wooden skiff (Brockway skiff).

I picked this boat up of CL yesterday, a 1959 Dorsett Catalina in good shape on a marginal trailer. It came with a 1980 Mercury "Classic 50", which I gather is 45hp?????? The engine starts right up, although it's manual-start.

The main problems with the boat (other than the extensive oxidation of the gelcoat and wear-through in places) is the disintegrating console and the aft cabin bulkhead, which is rotten along the bottom:

Today I pulled the bulkhead out, thankfully the pieces are intact enough that I can use them to trace new pieces. After pulling the bulkhead and cleaning out the cabin (including pulling the old marine head) it now seems that I'll have to replace the v-berths too:

No biggie, just one more piece of plywood. The great thing is that the transom isn't rotten, and the sole is nice and solid too! I'll be picking up some 1/2" MDO for the aft cabin bulkhead, I see that the v-berths were originally 3/8" fir ply but I think I'll upgrade a bit and use 1/2' MDO for that too.

Looking forward to the project and getting to know the folks on this forum!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1959 Dorsett Catalina - Oregon 10 years 8 months ago #80072

Welcome. She looks like a beauty and I look forward to watching and learning from your progress.

Bob