Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Manta Ray Rebuild

Manta Ray Rebuild 10 months 3 weeks ago #147993

I am about to start rebuild on my Custom Craft Manta Ray. I spoke to total boat and they recommended 5 to 1 epoxy and 1708 fiberglass. Upon further research it seems I should use polyester resin. Would appreciate any feedback or recommendations on the projects.

Thanks
Brian

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Manta Ray Rebuild 10 months 2 weeks ago #148004

• Eric Z
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 19
Hi Brian, I'm not an expert but have used all 3 (epoxy, poly and vinyl ester) and currently finishing up a Custom Craft Sun Ray. I have a thread going under the member projects forum.

I think it depends on what you intend to bind, i.e. epoxy adheres to pretty much anything and could be better to bond wood with the 1708. Poly is the least expensive and then there is vinyl. I used polyester on my first fiberglass boat resto, a lake n sea. There are several videos on the lake n sea web site. Here is #1 where I used poly to build transom skins and cover stringers and floor. I was told by the seacast folks to use poly as it would be compatible with their product and I used the total boat laminating and finishing resins.
link Part 1 www.dropbox.com/s/6kmvby4jew1ktp3/L%20%26%20S%20Part%20I.mp4?dl=0