Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Vintage Sterndrive vs. Outboard Parts Concern

Vintage Sterndrive vs. Outboard Parts Concern 9 years 4 months ago #103583

Hello! I am a newbie here. Looks like some great information. Anyhow, I am patiently looking around for a classic 60s-70s vintage fiberglass boat. I have seen a number of them for sale, some in good shape and some not.

My first main question is: In looking at these boats, some have Older Outboards and some sterndrives. Out of the two, most have been Mercury sterndrives and about split between Evinrude and Mercury outboards. What power package is typically easier to find parts for when we are talking about this age? Some of the sterndrives I have seen are referred to as "pre-alpha". Last thing I would want to do is ruin a trim ram or clutch and not be able to find parts for repair. Same on outboards. Anyway I have no experience with older boats but for now parts availability is my biggest concern. So to close, what is the opinion of vintage Sterndrive vs. Outboard for parts availability? Are there any outfits that specialize in parts for either?

Thanks!
Jason

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Vintage Sterndrive vs. Outboard Parts Concern 9 years 4 months ago #103584

• Nautilus
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 58
Welcome to the site and forum. To address your concerns, I'll offer a little free advice. (Worth twice what you pay for it.)

I'd stay away from pre-Alpha stern drives but the Alpha One's are fine and parts are readily available but of course, not cheap. A "parts boat" with the same engine/outdrive would be a good investment. You can generally pick one up an ugly one for the cost of a propeller...which you'll get with a parts boat, not to mention all kinds of other goodies that you may need someday that would cost you a fortune on a retail basis: pumps, manifolds, carburetor, linkages, gauges, etc.