Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Head gasket '61 Evinrude Starflite III

Head gasket '61 Evinrude Starflite III 7 years 7 months ago #126313

I'm thinking about tackling replacing the head gasket in my 75 HP Evinrude but am concerned about the risk of breaking the head bolts trying to remove them. I am not the original owner of the engine, but it doesn't look like the head has ever been removed. I'm not a mechanic or machinist but am a better than average tinkerer. I would appreciate any advice/recommendations on reducing the risk of bolt breakage as well as ways to remove a broken bolt from the block Thanks.

Doug

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Head gasket '61 Evinrude Starflite III 7 years 7 months ago #126334

• ed-mc
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 113
Hi, Doug, welcome to Fiberglassics!

Is the head gasket on your 75hp blown or leaking? 'Cause if not, you wouldn't need to necessarily replace it just because it's old.

If you have a Salty Dog, it's gonna take some persuasion to get the head bolts out without breaking. Even if you have a freshwater motor, it's wise to be cautious when pulling the bolts.

If you find any bolt that doesn't want to move with normal hand pressure on a 3/8" ratchet wrench, it's likely stuck.

The thing to do with a stuck bolt is to give it a good rap on the head with a ball-peen hammer. Followed by a rap with a punch, to each hex-side of the bolt head. This will jar the bolt and help break any corrosion products loose.

Then you must apply heat to the outside of the head, along where the bolt runs. Normally a seized bolt gets stuck in the head itself; in extreme cases the threads stick in the block as well. But typically, you get corrosion products building around the bolt until it's mechanically stuck in the head and won't turn.