Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New to G3 world - attempting to identify year

New to G3 world - attempting to identify year 10 years 6 months ago #84177

Hello all - I am new to the glassic world, with a recent purchase of a very nice G3. The fellow I bought it from claimed it is a 1960. The ID tag in fact states: 13XM20043, which to me would indicate boat #43 in 1960 from the Michigan plant.

The confusing part is that it is an OD model, with reversible spotters chair, driver's footrest and logo in front of the sponson on each side. It seems pretty original after inspecting the underside of the upper deck/hull fit. The transom was reworked at some point. It also has a stagger to the console, with the steering wheel portion raised partly. It also appears that I have fiberglass structure.

I have two questions: I get a good bit of water in from the sponson drain holes which someone thankfully added. How does one go about sealing the sponsons? How about snaking a tube inside and just fulling them with expandable foam (insulation) and be done with water ingress altogether?

Second question: I am considering adding a bilge pump. I had the boat out last night on Lake Elmo here in Minnesota to give my 17 year old some driving lessons. The lower hull drain had maybe a quart after an hour while the upper floor drain had around a gallon or more. Can I drill a hole above the hull drain and drop a pump suction line down there? Is there a common cavity that the hull structure feeds into?

Third question: the floor below the passenger feet seems to flex a heck of a lot more than the driver side. Is this normal? Can/should it be reinforced somehow? Note that this "floor" is actually the single layer of fiberglass hull, and not actually "floor".

Thank you!

Scott B
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:New to G3 world - attempting to identify year 10 years 6 months ago #84183