Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1973 22' BELL BOY new to me boat...

1973 22' BELL BOY new to me boat... 10 years 8 months ago #79435

So I was approached a few weeks ago by an older gentleman who was looking for a good home for his very clean all original 1973 Bell Boy boat. He asked if I was interested in looking at his boat? Being a classic car builder by trade it peaked my interest. Upon further inquire it turn out he had the boat in an indoor storage just a few blocks away from the shop. We decided to lock up the shop as we took a quick trip to his storage. The whole time I was wondering if it was a waste of time for both of us or not. He opened the garage storage door and there it was. A very nice all original, but very dirty 73 22 foot Bell Boy Day Cruiser with the sliding Hard top. I'm sure it was the baby blue contrast stripe that lured me in and grabbed me with a Big Arse trouble hook right in the upper lip! Hook, Line, and sinker I was in love with this thing. After a couple of hours of talking and listening the ole guy walked over and started his air compressor as he continued to talk about his first love and the good times he had on it. The compressor quieted and he began filling the four trailer tires slowly as he continued to tell me about it. He then opened the large roll up door and smiled. Not thinking anything about it I figured it was my signal to leave. That's when he asked if he could give me the boat! Yep he asked if he could give me the boat! First instinct was no... I cant afford this boat right now. Love it but with the economy the way it is and the work slow as it is I cant commit to anything like that! He smiled again and said he wanted to give me his boat! He turned the boat over to me right there, and just like that I'm a boat owner! Im still in shock and to be honest it caught me completely by surprise.