• Page:

TOPIC: restoring old fiberglass boat..

restoring old fiberglass boat.. 13 years 7 months ago #13573

• Matt
  • Matt's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I read one needs to be careful with old fiber glassic boats that have been in the weather...

I found an old HydroVee which I think is just kool but transom is VERY gone along with interior...wondering what it takes to bring that old fiberglass back to life....
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Matt in Illinois

I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time !

Re:restoring old fiberglass boat.. 13 years 7 months ago #13576

• RB78
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
I'm no expert - still working on my first restore. (Rinkerbuilt Project)

It's a lot of work, but that one looks like it would be worth the effort.

Use the Mr Clean pads to clean that surface dirt & mold. You will be amazed how quickly it comes off without damaging the gel coat.

You will need a place where you can lift the cap (unless you want to jury-rig it like I have to), and then tear out all of the wood. Stringers will most likely require repair or replacement, but you won't really know until you remove the flooring.

Can't really see from the photos - what shape is the hull and cap in? You will probably have a 3/8" skin on that old guy - easier to work with than thinner skins on newer boats. Mine is, at least.

I tap the knowledge and experience of the guys on iboats.com for a lot of what I am doing on my boat. They've saved me enormous amounts of time and money - because I would have done everything to this point ass-backwards had I been on my own.

Oh, a great book to use as a guide is Runabout Restoration. Found it on Amazon.com Some of the info re: glass work is a bit out of date, but really a terrific resource to have at hand. Well written and funny, to boot.

Good luck with this project!