Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1964-65 Merc 1000

1964-65 Merc 1000 7 years 5 months ago #127667

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie to this forum, in fact, a newbie to boating. Im hoping this is the place to get some much needed information, education, and advise.

In an effort to find a boat trailer, my husband and I found one with a boat and motor package.... Buy the trailer, get the "boat and motor free" type of deal.

Anyway, we came home with a 1961 Performer Islander with a 1964-65 Merc 1000 on board, but elevated with the transom saver. This has been in storage, without use, for 15 years. We have not started the engine, but my husband was amazed at the clean engine after opening it up. The boat was put into storage with no fuel and had received a standard maintenance prior as well.

It's such a classic boat! We've been watching some videos on boat motors and we'd like to take the steps to get this back in the water; however, we don't know where to begin.

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Gina
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1964-65 Merc 1000 7 years 5 months ago #127668

Sorry for the duplicate photos.... I'll try again.
Attachments:

Re:1964-65 Merc 1000 7 years 5 months ago #127669

Attachments:

Re:1964-65 Merc 1000 7 years 5 months ago #127670

Attachments:

Re:1964-65 Merc 1000 7 years 5 months ago #127671

Attachments:

Re:1964-65 Merc 1000 7 years 5 months ago #127672

motor is 1965.

Re:1964-65 Merc 1000 7 years 5 months ago #127675

Thank you, Dave!! :laugh:

I see I made an error on the boat year.... Its actually a 1961.... My typo above.

Are these motors worth the cost to be looked at by a professional Marine Mechanic? I know that's a difficult question to answer..... But thought I'd ask.

We are really looking for an aluminum fishing boat to fit our needs. Is there much interest in this type of set up on Fiberglassics?