Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: water in oil

water in oil 7 years 7 months ago #127234

Hello, I just picked up a 1967 Larson with a 120 I/o. Avocado green.
Very cool boat. Good shape for the age. The person I got it from said it had ran two years prior. I also don't have to purchase if the motor is bad. Well I just drained the oil and got two quarts of water out of it, also the motor is seized. I am a mechanic by trade and have the equipment to rebuild, so I am not worried about that part. Not to sure what to look for on the out drive or what is needed to maintain or rebuild. I hate to stick the money in to the engine and have the drive bad. Thanks for your time.
Andy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:water in oil 7 years 7 months ago #127240

As I recall that's about the earliest of the Mercruiser out-drives. Way before the Alpha or any of that. I have not worked on one that old. I do mostly mid-1970's - MC1 & MC2's ...

But, it's pretty straight forward. Check the oil in the lower unit. If off colored, needs seals. Park it in the sun so it gets warm and drain the lower unit. Should be minimal, metallic sheen and not much that a magnet will pick up. If you get sand size metallics, it's either eating gears or bearings ...

On something that old, you will have to go through all the "rubber" bits. Seals, hoses, bellows, etc. It would not really be safe to run with original ozone aged rubber bits.

There are some special tools needed to tear down the lower unit completely. But you may be able to borrow or rent them from a local Mecruiser shop. I don't imagine they have a ton of calls for tools for the old stuff.

If you get stuck They can help out with a particular part. Mostly they'll be parts that have corroded and won't move ... Real patience and lots of good penetrating oil will help. Easy with the heat. You do not want to warp any cases.