Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: '71 Merc 500 cuts out at WOT

'71 Merc 500 cuts out at WOT 13 years 9 months ago #10861

Hi. Title says it all, my 50 HP mercury 500 seems to die at wide open throtle. It seems to have just started happening and is now happening more and more frequently. It doesn't happen at low speeds, just when I get it up on a plane at WOT or close to it - I hear it start to starve for fuel (I think) and then die. It starts right back up when this happens. Seems to happen more when it's warm, and it seems to be getting worse. Pumping the bulb seems to help.

I think that what's going on is that the fuel pump is nominal / starting to go out... but I'm not sure.

I'm not a mechanic, so I'm wondering if their are other things I should check myself before going to the boat mechanic?

I looked at another thread on this forum, but I'm not sure if it was exactly the same issue. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:'71 Merc 500 cuts out at WOT 13 years 9 months ago #10862

One more thought... when I say it seems to be happening more and more, it may be that it happens more the closer to empty the tank gets. When it first happened, the tank was almost empty and I thought it might have just been the angle of the boat as it went nose up getting up to a plane - thought it couldn't pick up fuel.

I put it in the shop for a new impeller, change the oil on the lower, checked carbs, compression, and installed new plugs. Mechanic said all was fine. I had warned him the fuel tank was almost empty and he used the shop tank.