• Page:

TOPIC: 1960 "Aluminum Goods ltd" Runabout project

1960 "Aluminum Goods ltd" Runabout project 10 years 8 months ago #82013

• Herb
  • Herb's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Everyone, I'm new to FiberGlassics and new to boat restoration. Always enjoyed spending time on the lake growing up, and found that water sports helped to keep me in shape. (Well, better shape than had I not be doing water sports.) I am an HVAC mechanic (home heating and air), which means i know how to hold a wrench or a hammer, a little about ignition systems, and know how to do clean wiring jobs. The rest is yet to be determined.

So I am working on bringing this Aluminum runabout back to life with my own vision in mind. It needs hull repair (will have to learn about replacing rivets etc), and the motor isn't firing up yet, and all new interior and repaint everything. Lots to do!

Here it is before I began, Old wooden seats upholstered, completely rotten and host to a colony of carpenter ants. This boat spent 5 years on the ground under a tarp. Mouse nests on the bow and all.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1960 "Aluminum Goods ltd" Runabout project 10 years 8 months ago #82014

• Herb
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
In Ontario, Canada and now mid August I am running out of warm weather and want to see just how bad the hull is for repairs to be completed through the winter. My mission was to get this boat off of the ground, mount the motor and see about getting it running. I picked up the boat and a 1965 or 1968 Evinrude 33HP ski twin both from the same place for a package deal of $160. No trailer included. I think that old Evinrude will look quite swell. Since the hull seems to have a vintage design I would like to keep this antique outboard to help complete the look. I have been toying with the idea of painting the hull to match the (eventually) restored engine.