Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: glassing in a new wood floor help

glassing in a new wood floor help 9 years 4 months ago #102866

Hi everyone im a new member and i am new at boat repair . I just got a 1959 glasspar spor lido..i believe and i just got done with a new transom ready to do the wood floor need advice on cloth layup around the edges. Stringers are very thin so i probably wont be screwing the floor in especially around the edges the wood will meet the hull..im in southern ca in the high desert and have a hard time finding supplies..im a metal fabricator so i dont have fiberglass contacts..my question is how much cloth and type to hold down the edges..due to money i have to use polyester resin from lowes and using 5/8 plywood might be slightly thinner ..do i lay any glass under the wood around the edges or just strips on top?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:glassing in a new wood floor help 9 years 4 months ago #102871

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5
First and foremost, welcome aboard! We've got some serious (very knowledgeable) Glasspar members, I'm sure some of them will be glad to advise on the best methods for your model.

Generally speaking, there are several methods of floor (sole) installation that will yield good results. I prefer to put a layer of CSM (chopped strand mat) on the bottom, use two layers of 1708 Biaxial tape around the edges and at least one layer of CSM over the entire floor when finished.

There's a big FG supplier out in Washington called Fisheries Supplies; www.fisheriessupply.com/#

or I use US Composites out of FLA, and of course they'll ship anywhere; www.uscomposites.com/

Hope some or any of this helps, share some pics of your project with us when you get a chance.

Mark

Re:glassing in a new wood floor help 9 years 4 months ago #102884

Hello! Welcome!

I'm in Los angeles. I can help you out. I got lots of extra fiberglass if you are looking for some.