Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Primer questions

Primer questions 14 years 1 week ago #3910

I put on Rustoleum Marine coatings (primer and top coat) first time around, and because I did not sand between coats, it came out crummy. Hey, I'm new at this stuff! In retrospect I should have sanded it smooth and re-coated with the same product, but was convinced to switch to Interlux. That caused compatibilty problems and I had sand everything off. I have started again with Interlux Pre-Kote primer, and have just sanded the third coat.

Now, after an amazing amount of wasted time, I have a few questions. I am assuming because of the previous incompatibility problem I better have a full coverage of Pre-Kote before applying Interlux Brightsides. I have sanded the last coat with 120 and it's baby cheek smooth. As you can see, I have areas where color shows through. Can I just prime those areas, and when dry, fair it into the surrounding primer? Or should I just do the whole thing again?

Never having done this before, I am open to suggestions. I just don't want to have to do everything over again! Thanks.

Frank

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Primer questions 14 years 1 week ago #3912

frank, when my boat was done my buddy sprayed epoxy primer, it was never sanded. it took about 6 months to find someone who would paint it, and i doubt that they sanded it at the shop because i had it all masked off before i brought it to them. also the price i got was for painting only. ron
Attachments:

Re:Primer questions 14 years 1 week ago #3917

as your finding when you sand thru the layers of existing paint you expose layers that may not be compatible with what your about to spray the whole job is completed and looks great but the couple areas you sanded thru may craze and wrinkle...

spot priming works fine but when I do this I wetsand to feather edge the new layer of primer