• Page:

TOPIC: Poll: Fuel, Oil, Engine?

Poll: Fuel, Oil, Engine? 6 years 6 months ago #134118

• rip fc3
  • rip fc3's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 2
Im sure this has been addressed at some point but a quick search didn't yield any results of note.

What kind of fuel do you use in your vintage outboards, 50's and 60's particuarly.

What engine?
what fuel? 87? 89? ethanol free?
Oil? regular TCW3? synthetic?
Ratio? 24:1 40:1 50:1?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Poll: Fuel, Oil, Engine? 6 years 6 months ago #134119

• Meteor
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
I am no expert but from my experience and others comments I believe one should run Premium as most premium has no Ethanol in it. The Ethanol can attack brass and rubber parts in the fuel system over time if they are not made to withstand Ethanol. As for oil, the oils of today are so far superior to the oils back when these vintage motors were made , I don't think you can go wrong with almost anything available today mixed at the manufacturers recommendations.. One mans opinion...Brad

Poll: Fuel, Oil, Engine? 6 years 6 months ago #134121

• Dr.Go!
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 125
My mechanic recommended the same thing Meteor stated. 1955 evinrude 15hp Auquasonic and 1965 Merc 1000 (100hp)...Dad bought the evinrude new and the Merc was owned 50 years by original owner. I still run my 1978merc 20hp I bought in high school...maybe because each of us original owners had to work hard for this extra money, we just really wanted them to last...and Dad taught me to take care of my stuff...use it plenty as you wish, but learn all you can so you know how to take care of it and your investment will serve you a long time. My grandkids will be 5th generation with the 1955 rude and 1956 Starcraft 14 we still have. I never run ethanol fuel.

Dr.Go!