Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Newb.

Newb. 6 years 7 months ago #133845

Hey gang, newbie here...

Jus picked up a 1958 Dorsett Belmont last week. Restoration underway. Pics to follow.

Paid $300 for boat and trailer, no motor. Found it in San Jose, CA.

Would love to hear from other Dorsett owners. Wondering about floor covering ideas other than carpet? Thinking about trying to "seal" entire interior in Tuff Coat possibly first and then re-evaluate. Thoughts? Opinions? Comments.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Newb. 6 years 7 months ago #133847

Sneak peak. Just a bit of the original gel coat shining through. Also - had a 60's Dorsett glass windshield installed.

I could really use some help from other owners who have restored a similar boat. My main focus at this point is getting the interior straightened out. I already completely rebuilt the original rear bench seat (except foam).

I'm looking to coat the floor of the boat with some sort of sealer/sealant/coating this week before I do anything else.

I almost bought a gallon of flex seal (90$) from Lowe's this afternoon but was hoping to hear from some members before making my decision.
Attachments:

Newb. 6 years 7 months ago #133851

Nice boat. Why the seal coating on the inside? Does it leak or are you just trying to make it "touchable" instead of raw fiber? Pictures of the interior might be helpful for recommendations too.

I've used flex seal on other stuff and it's good for certain things, but I don't think this is one of them. First, I don't think it will hold up well to being walked on. Second (and more importantly) it's going to make any future work on the glass impossible. Once you get that stuff on there no other normal epoxy, 'glass, or gel coat will even think about sticking to it. You will never be able to make any other repairs. I just don't think I'd go down that road.