Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Source of oil and water in combustion chamber

Source of oil and water in combustion chamber 7 years 9 months ago #123678

• dspeck
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I need some help in diagnosing a problem with my 1961 Evinrude Starflite III 75 HP which I bought along with with my 1960 center deck G3. This post will be a little long, but I want to share what has happened and what I did before I ask my question. I am not a mechanic, but I do love tinkering. So, please bear with me.

The motor was running fine a week ago until the gas supply line broke just below the carburator intake nipple at the top of the carb. I also had a shifting problem that required replacing the "exhaust housing shaft and arm." So, I decided to fix both problems at the same time. Prior to this event, I had removed the lower unit only once and that was to paint it. After the paint job reassembly, the engine ran well with no apparent problems.

Replacing the shaft and arm assembly required separating the exhaust tube from the power head which was easy to do. This, in turn, required replacing both the "adapter to outer exhaust tube gasket" and the "adapter to power head gasket." I made these replacements without any problems I could see. And, since I had it apart, I also replaced the "inner to outer exhaust tube gasket." Following these repairs, I reassembled the exhaust tube to the power head, remounted the head/exhaust tube to the swivel bracket and exhaust covers, and remounted the lower unit with a new gasket between the lower unit and the exhaust tube. Maneuvering the cooling tubes and aligning the shift linkage was tricky as usual, but, with patience, accomplished.