Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Bearcat 85's?? Anyone?

Bearcat 85's?? Anyone? 8 years 4 months ago #117616

Well I've been running twin 55's for three or four years now and it's worked out pretty well for the weekly salmon fishing trips and a bunch of fun day trips. Only thing I'd like to do is go a little faster! On a '73 Outrage 21 my best sog was 24 mph (wide open, 5,500 rpm, running with the wind). Tried props with different pitches but my rpm range is right where it should be. I'd love to set this boat up with twin 85 Bearcats. I know there are only about 10 known to exist and they were largely regarded as junk out of the crate but I haven't figured any possible way to gain another 10 mph out of the 55's. Any input or ideas would be welcome, as would leads on any 85's - dead or alive!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Bearcat 85's?? Anyone? 8 years 4 months ago #117624

Driller,

WELCOME ABOARD. - I happen to be a fan of the 55HP Homelites/Bearcats but know almost nothing about the 85.
We have several members who do have one & likes it.

yours, satx

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.
Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re: Bearcat 85's?? Anyone? 8 years 4 months ago #117662

• l98tpi
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Consider weighing your hull. Whalers are known for the core foam getting loaded with water over the years. You can find the hull weights on line. Likely one of the Bearcat guys can tell you what the 55s weigh.
As a reference my buddies early 15/16 (?) footer does a GPS 37 mph with 80 hp. This boat is for sure dry inside.

Boats: 76 Chrysler Conqueror S3, 61 Larson Playmate. Outboards: 76 Chrysler 105, 70 Chrysler 70, 57 Evinrude Bigtwin 35, 80 Johnson 35 looper, 74 Chrysler 45, 67 Mercury 650SS, and others.

Re: Bearcat 85's?? Anyone? 8 years 4 months ago #117666