Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Timing adjustment

Timing adjustment 8 years 7 months ago #114546

Hi Everyone,
Slowly fixing up my Dad's Bearcat 55. I installed the Pertronix Ignitor II #91545 (with adjustable dwell), with their Flame-Thrower II coil, and Flame-Thrower carbon core suppression spark plug wires. Then tried to set the timing at 8 BDC but it varied quiet a bit. Some flashes showed 8 degrees, some at TDC, and some at a greater advance. All I could do was try to get an average at 8 degrees. I'm new to using a timing light, but from what I gather there shouldn't be this type of variation. Am I good, or is there a problem? The timing mark on the flywheel didn't line up with the one on the crankshaft, so I drew new marks on the flywheel edge based on the crankshaft mark. It idols a bit fast at about 900 rpm (intermittantly drops down to about 600; may be a carb issue), and doesn't advance all the way to 43 degrees at 4200 rpm. Any advice? Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Timing adjustment 8 years 7 months ago #114550

Just talked with the owner of the timing light I borrowed and we decided I might have been getting aberrant firing of the light due to closed proximity of the other spark plug wires to the pickup on the #1 wire. I'll repeat and try to isolate the #1 plug wire better.

Re:Timing adjustment 8 years 7 months ago #114684

You probably won't get it to run well with the carbon core wires. The screw in style connectors in the cap are designed to pierce copper core wires. Unless you are running a stereo while the motor is running, you do not need suppression ignition wires, or resistor plugs. Here are the wires I am running, and they work great:

smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NB657NK?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00