Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Drain Plug / Mod for 1958 Texasmaid - need advice.

Drain Plug / Mod for 1958 Texasmaid - need advice. 12 years 11 months ago #30623

I recently bought a Texas Maid 14ft aluminum boat (with trailer and motor) and (though I am pretty new to boats- but formerly an aircraft mechanic) I decided that the price was right, the hull looked sound, trailer seemed road worthy, and motor would be ok (once I got the fire ants out of the water passages... but that's a different thread...).

The only thing that seemed to be missing to me was the drain plug. The PO (was selling her dad's boat that she got after he passed away) told me that they had the drain plug and would mail it to me. So I didn't think much about this and figured that I could probably pick one up at a local marine or sporting goods store... anyway to make a long story short... what they mailed me was a half inch ID pvc pipe plug with teflon tape wrapped around it... So I learned that not only are TM boat plugs are NOT standard, I was going to have a hard time finding one...

I found some threads on iboats where people have made their own plugs out of 7/8in bolts (not a cheap option being that no hardware store where I live has a fine thread 7/8 in bolt and I would have to get it from an online store). So I got some quotes for the parts which were quite a bit higher than I thought they would be as most of the time it seems you "can't just buy one" of any of the parts that I would need.

here are the links to iboats forums:
1. forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=365011&pagenumber=
2. forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=472236&pagenumber=