Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1964 Lone Star Medallion Transom Needs Replacement

1964 Lone Star Medallion Transom Needs Replacement 8 years 2 months ago #119907

Hi all!

As the subject stated, I have a 1964 Lone Star Medallion with a rotten transom. Looking for advice on this project.

(Yes, I'm a Noob!)
Thanks in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: 1964 Lone Star Medallion Transom Needs Replacement 8 years 2 months ago #119912

WeatherEye,

WELCOME ABOARD.

IF I was doing it, I would use either 3 half-inch layers of MDO, laid in epoxy peanut butter OR 2 X 3/4" layers of the same.
(Such a transom, properly sealed with epoxy should outlast the hull.)

yours, satx

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.
Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re: 1964 Lone Star Medallion Transom Needs Replacement 8 years 1 month ago #120333

Thanks satx,

I had planned to use 2 layers of 3/4" MDO sealed with epoxy. Finally started the project yesterday. Drilled several buck rivets on both sides of the transom...apparently not enough to gain access yet to the rotten wood.

Going to hold off from further drilling until I'm certain how many more (and which ones) need to be removed to accomplish this task.

Have been hunting all over the Internet to find additional info...no luck yet.

Thanks for your suggestion.

WeatherEye aka Will

Re: 1964 Lone Star Medallion Transom Needs Replacement 8 years 1 month ago #120336

Pix would help

Re: 1964 Lone Star Medallion Transom Needs Replacement 8 years 1 month ago #120348

I'll post some tomorrow.

Re: 1964 Lone Star Medallion Transom Needs Replacement 8 years 1 month ago #120364

Pics...the 2048 size limit for pics is giving me fits. I have tried re-sizing but still something is not quite jake.

Please standby as I deal with these technical difficulties.

WeatherEye

Re: 1964 Lone Star Medallion Transom Needs Replacement 8 years 1 month ago #120510